old quotes

I found an old entry that I never posted, thoughts and images from our trip up to Utah nearly two years ago. May as well let it out now.

Ni’s comment on the cheapie sewing machine I borrowed and tried, unsuccessfully to use: “I wouldn’t even be afraid to sew over my finger with this thing.”

Dad: “Some of those movie stars are as shallow as a puddle in a parking lot.”

C.S. Lewis cracks me up. “There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.” Brilliant first line.

At the restaurant in Provo: A tall, willowy girl in a formal dress, about to be seated with a crowd of other prom goers. She stops, says “Get. Out. Of. TOWN!” and runs over and bear-hugs a shorter stocky girl in sweats.

Sign on a stack of semi “cars”–you know, on the back of huge trucks?– sitting by the side of the road:
WANT ME?
Buy me
Rent me
Make me yours!

OTHER QUOTES:

Jon Anderson–
I’d like, please, to leave on your sill
Just one cold flower, whose beauty
Would leave you inconsolable all day.
The secret of poetry is cruelty.

G.K. Chesterton on Grimm’s fairy tales–
“Children know themselves to be innocent, and so demand justice, but we adults fear ourselves guilty and ask for mercy in our stories.”

Elizabeth Barrett Browning–
Earth’s crammed with heaven,
And every common bush afire with God;
But only he who sees takes off his shoes;
The rest sit round it and pluck blackberries.

Comments are closed.