evolution of beauty

This is a quote from the blog post linked below:

“You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free…but first it will piss you off.”

The video below … it makes me angry. Everyone should see it — I think it should make us all angry.

Because she wasn’t pretty before?! Yeah. Sure. There have always been different standards of “beauty,” in every age, I can accept that, even though I believe that if you look at someone long enough, you will see their beauty. But our age, our standard? Is just getting more and more frightening.
This here is a wonderful post by Michelle, another Self Portrait Challenger. Go read it. Now.

5 responses to “evolution of beauty

  1. It makes me really angry. What gets to me more is how lax everyone is about it. I viewed it first on Good Morning and then again on YouTube. I was saddened by the comments I read. One girl even asked what program they used so she could use it.

    I am really growing tired of seeing all of these unnatural and unabtainable beauty standards being thrust upon us. It’s ridiculous.

  2. She IS pretty to begin with. It doesn’t surprise me that I don’t really get much useful out of modern day magazines like Maxim or Cosmo, there’s nothing terribly relevent in them. Honestly, Maxim is mostly a “Hey check out this cool shit” tyoe of magazine; I learned about the Nuclear Football, Myamoto Musashi, and the Pentegon’s Doomsday Scenarios (pre-9/11) from Maxim. The pictures, eh, less interesting.

  3. I don’t know if you remember this or now, but back when we were dating and Lisa first met you she told me she thought you were so very beautiful, and I had to kick her ass to go tell you that to your face. I just thought I’d remind you of that if you’d forgotten.

  4. So YOU’RE the one who prompted that random compliment! I couldn’t possibly forget that — Lisa completely randomly stopping in the doorway to say, “You’re beautiful, you know.” 🙂 Highlights of life.

  5. Pingback: more airbrushing rage « quaking aspen