reporting back

[I’m sure it’s wrong to want to fling yourself from the window just because you lost a stupid blog entry. Even if it was all finished and you were just trying to add a link to a charity. And it totally inexplicably disappeared.]

I now officially have a horrible cold, and am exceedingly grouchy; but this almost cheered me up: more Donny Osmond and Weird Al dancing… can’t get enough.

Report: so I got my prints back from Scrapbookpictures.com. Some of the 4x6s were color corrected, and I’m just almost never happy with color correction even, apparently, when it is done “by hand,” as theirs is purported to be. Always so yellow. 😛

But the 12x12s are lovely. And big. Big. Did I mention big? It’s just really nice to see my pages on paper, too. Digi scrapping is funny, because a lot of people open up a 12×12 canvas, but then end up printing them 8×8, which makes sense for a lot of reasons — being able to print it at home, or as an 8×10 and then trim it down; also the small computer screen makes it easier to design “bigger.” But even though I was aware of this and knew I wanted the pages to be 12×12 to go with the other Halloween pages I have (and therefore I was sizing the photos and so forth accordingly)… it still came out big. Big. But in a good way. And very nice prints.

I do want to try out sbtoshare.com — as they’re cheaper. I’ll let you know (eventually) about them, too.

Also? A word to the wise: there are many, many awesome digital freebies out there (Shabby Princess has so many lovely free kits that you almost wouldn’t need anything else; 2peas (scroll down for the free ones) has a free kit every month or so; ScrapGirls sends two freebies in their newsletter every weekday; and there are plenty other places too, of course), but particularly when you get a little, um, enthusiastic about downloading, you also need to keep up on the unzipping and categorizing. Otherwise you might, oh, hypothetically, end up finding a nice circle stamp that says “Halloween 2006” only AFTER you send all your Halloween 2006 pages off to be printed. When it would’ve been perfect, especially in that one corner where you used an unsatisfactory photo turn… Grr. (So instead I printed it on a transparency and added one to each layout.)

Here’s the final of that page I was going to write and stamp on. I got matte finish, and I hope that helps the paint not come off.

Puppy Boy, final

P.S. I’m thinking about moving, still on wordpress, but to quakingaspen (go figure, the name of the site, hmm…). Nervewracking, though I’m sure my four loyal readers would probably be willing to follow.

P.P.S. Cool thing on Ali Edwards’ blog – if her badge is in the top six (number of donations, not necessarily amount of money donated) then the organization will get a matching $10,000 donation as well. I would put the badge in here but as it deletes the whole entry inexplicably, you’ll just have to check it out at this link.

4 responses to “reporting back

  1. see, now you’re hybrid 😉 your pages came out great!

  2. Nice blog I will recommend you to all my friends. Thank you.

  3. Good to read another Wierd Al fan.
    Even though we print at 8×8, I think we scrap at 12×12 inthe hope that one day we’ll get a widw printer and then our layouts will be ready for the big time.

  4. I am with you. I get all happy when I watch Donny Osmond dance. LOL!

    I think your page turned out great. I love how you used both digital and paint/handwriting. You are awesome girl!!!

    I will need to try out the Scrapbook pictures. Someday real soon.

    Of course I will follow you to your own site. ;)Just remember to tell us when you go. 🙂