how bookish

Found on Owlhaven (a long time ago!).

1. Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? I’ll read any, but I’m partial to the trade paperbacks, large, pretty paper, smooth cover, mmm… and hardcovers are pretty too of course. But heavy.

2. Amazon or brick and mortar? Almost equal. I even go to my library online (lots of reserving and renewing books there) but of course have to drive to the building.

3. Barnes & Noble or Borders? Uh, whatever. Do they have books?

4. Bookmark or dog-ear? I love bookmarks but never seem to have them on hand. No, I’m not above dog-ear-ing. Somehow I missed being instilled with the horror of this. Quirk: I usually dog ear the bottom corner rather than the top.

5. Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random? When my books are “organized” (which they are not at present), I have a semi-complicated system, more or less topical/genre which allows me to find things quickly, but without being burdened by the onus of alphabetizing.

6. Keep, throw away, or sell? I almost never buy a book without reading it first, so yeah, keep. On occasion I exchange it for store credit at the local used book store.

7. Keep dustjacket or toss it? When I was younger I used to stick them in a drawer, now I keep them on the books. And my kids take them off, which irritates me.

8. Read with dustjacket or remove it? Read with it on — and use the end flap as a bookmark!

9. Short story or novel? Novels, but I like creative nonfiction, and the occasional book of short stories or essays. And poetry, by authors I like.

10. Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)? Either. I tend toward best of anthologies.

11. Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Definitely Harry Potter. The first Lemony Snicket was amusing in style (even the author’s name is delightful), but I want something with a soul.

12. Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? I don’t even register chapter breaks when I’m really into a book. When dawn peeks through the window, or someone drags me away.

13. “It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Once upon a time.

14. Buy or Borrow? I love our local library and use it as much as possible.

15. New or used? I also love our local used book store… et cetera.

16. Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse? Mostly recommendations, though many from blogs – is that technically a review? Hm. And like I said, I almost never buy a book before reading it.

17. Tidy ending or cliffhanger? Tidy — well, satisfying is my real criteria.

18. Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? Um, all of the above? I am especially bad about nighttime reading though — I get sucked in and can’t stop and read till 3 am. I don’t feel like I’m done winding down for the night till I’ve read a few pages of something though.

19. Stand-alone or series? More or less equal of each.

20. Favorite series? Oh, Lord of the Rings, Dark is Rising, Harry Potter, the Wrinkle in Time books, Narnia, Little House,

21. Favorite children’s book? There are too many. But I love Ella Enchanted, by Gail Carson Levine, and The Ropemaker, by Peter Dickinson. And Princess Academy by Shannon Hale.

22. Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? How do I know what you’ve heard of? Um, I really like The Changeling Sea, by Patricia McKillip, and Black Unicorn, by Tanith Lee.

23. Favorite books read last year? I don’t keep track so much of the time when I read things. But here’s a smattering: The Orchid Thief, Susan Orlean; Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, Amy Rosenthal; Fledgling, Octavia Butler; Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norell, Susanna Clarke; The Big Picture, Stacy Julian; Guns, Germs and Steel … I’d best stop there.

24. Favorite books of all time? The aforementioned Black Unicorn, and The Last Unicorn, Peter S. Beagle. Just about anything by Robin McKinley and Orson Scott Card.

25. Least favorite book you finished last year? Wicked, but I didn’t even finish it. Blech.

26. What are you reading right now? Salt: A World History.

27. What are you reading next? New Moon, by Stephenie Myer, as soon as it comes into the library.

4 responses to “how bookish

  1. Hey- I found a new digital photo blog I think you would like (maybe you’ve already seen it)
    http://shootingthekids.dpblogs.com/

    Might give you inspiration for that new photo lens you got (me- so jealous).

    I’m also jealous that you got to go to Melting Pot for your birthday. You are so rad.

  2. Salt was a great book. I loved it. I am so with you on 12. I cannot put a book down if I’m into the book

  3. Hey I love your little book q and a. I noticed you have daring young mom blog link. I love that blog! Read it all the time. Do you have pictures posted on photobucket or flickr? Can I see them? thanks!
    Tiana

  4. Love this meme! I’m also participating in NaBloPoMo and might keep this on hand for one of those days when I have nothing brilliant to say. Ha! 🙂

    Don’t you love Shannon Hale? I loved her book The Goose Girl.

    Cheers!

    Karen Beth 🙂