"if I had a million dollars"

If I had a million dollars – if I had a million dollars
Well, I’d buy you a fur coat – but not a real fur coat, that’s cruel
And if I had a million dollars – if I had a million dollars
Well, I’d buy you an exotic pet – yep, like a llama or an emu

(You’ve heard the song by the Barenaked Ladies right? I love it love it love it. It just makes me happy to listen to it. I was living in Canada when it was first out and big, so it was on the radio all the time. And I never got tired of it.)

So… what if you had a million dollars? What would you do with it? [Please note, this is NOT a rhetorical question, okay?]

For me… Well, more or less right away I’d move – away from this oven of a state. And buy a house (not a mansion, just a house) (like a million dollars would buy a mansion, ha!), and a new (well, at least new to us) car. Minivan actually. I know, I’m the height of cool.

I’d probably spread some of the wealth around to family and friends. Invest some of course. Pay off our one credit card.

Of course I’d get a laptop (like, instantly). And some clothing purchases would be near the top of the list, both because of the moving thing and also because my kids have grown an inch and an inch and a half, respectively, since mid August. Good grief.

There would be a few things I would positively delight in doing — I’d get all our old family photos scanned (I might use this service, or one like it [oops, forgot link, added it in]), send out DVDs of them to all the family members. I might see what we could do to start a business that would let my husband work from home and my sibs and family live near me. (We’re dreaming, right?)

It’s fun to think of ways to help people, anonymously or not. We’ve struggled along in apartments for so long – it would be so easy to pay someone’s rent for a month. Shopping for baby clothes for new parents, and not so new parents for that matter. Putting together date packages for parents of new babies — gift certificates for delivered pizza and a rented movie, maybe (it was so hard to get out at first with a newborn). Of course, many worthy organizations to donate to.

If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to walk to the store
If I had a million dollars
We’d take a limousine ’cause it costs more

It’s tempting to think, “Gosh, if I had a million dollars, my life would be so different. Surely my house would be suddenly clean and organized, I would be a better parent, more successful in my goals… Also lose all the excess weight, be in perfect shape and I would suddenly love exercise! Perhaps I would magically develop some fashion sense as well!” Very exclamatory.

If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to eat Kraft Dinner
But we would eat Kraft Dinner. Of course we would, we’d just eat more…

But the truth is, a lot of things really wouldn’t change that much for me, and certainly not at first. My amazing husband and kids – a warm place to sleep and eat – lots of “toys” and talents – friends – family – faith. I’d have them then, I have them now, already.

And a lot of the things I mentioned here, are really things that are within my reach, even now (though, I admit, not always immediately within it). The reason I like to think about this topic, is when I really visualize it — I get a surge of hope, a sense of abundance, a feeling of power, of possibility, as well as being aware of how blessed I already am. If I had a million dollars, there would be a lot of possibilities, if mostly physical possibilities. When so much is possible, then you get to choose, and you have to choose carefully – because your time is all the more precious.

So much is possible now. My time is precious now. I always want to remember that.

If I had a million dollars – if I had a million dollars
Well, I’d buy you a monkey – haven’t you always wanted a monkey?
If I had a million dollars I’d buy your love…If I had a million dollars, if I had a million dollars
If I had a million dollars, if I had a million dollars
If I had a million dollars, I’d be rich

One response to “"if I had a million dollars"

  1. If I had a million dollars, I would invest it so that I would have enough money to pay for a housekeeper. The end.

    You lived in Canada when BNL first sang “If I Had $1,000,000” and in Berlin when the wall came down? I am curious what put you in those places. We’ve lived in Canada because of the U.S. Navy–my husband worked for the Canadian DND on a personnel exchange tour–and we loved it there.